Late to the Afterparty: Overwatch

I’m unfashionably late to the after-afterparty where everyone’s passed out and some people are even beginning to wake up with massively overpowered headaches that will follow them throughout the day. My interest in MMOs has waned to the point where I can only be bothered to log in to The Secret World every couple of days for one to three consecutive days of play, and then only if the people on my friends list are going to be running classic Nightmare dungeons or, more recently, Kaidan Elites (AEGIS dungeons). This interest in MMOs will undoubtedly be bolstered by the return of Nostalrius in its second incarnation on December 17th, which will see me resuming play on my priest and rolling up a fresh warrior for tanking dungeons on the PvE server where I’ll be free to roam with a headcanon full of nostalgic musings on fantasies that disappear when the game client closes.

In the meantime and downtime, I’ve been looking for a gap-filler. So, on a whim, I decided to buy Overwatch after mulling it over for a week or so. It’s a multiplayer shooter with heroes and objectives and mechanics. It’s easy to pick up a specific hero’s ablities; mastering them in matches against human players may take quite some time depending on one’s FPS experience and killer instinct.

I have no killer instinct to speak of and don’t really know why I’m shooting at other players. I presume it’s because they’re shooting at me. I think I’m doing the whole Overwatch thing wrong, anyways, because I hate the popular damage-dealing heroes Genji and Hanzo and prefer to play mostly support and sometimes tank characters almost exclusively. I’ll even switch from Mercy with her single-target healing/damage beams and resurrection ultimate to Lúcio who possesses a speed boost/healing toggle (with an amplifier) that functions most effectively when he “exists” in the midst of his teammates.

Things like positioning, situational awareness, map terrain navigation, and aiming are coming back to me slowly. Twenty years ago I played shooters quite a bit – the feelings died down as I got older. One of the things I asked myself when contemplating the purchase was: why are you getting back into player combat after your experiences with Smite? Don’t you remember? It made you hate other players.

Overwatch is a bit different so far: I’m relatively low level, so people don’t seem to mind much what others are doing, which is great because if anyone were to notice my individual performance in some of these matches and I made the mistake of leaving voice chat enabled, I’d probably be called some things I’m not interested in hearing. In any case, after several rounds against the A.I., I began playing Quick Play exclusively (non-competitive matches) and have been having fun to the tune of two hours a night. Perhaps this will change as my skill improves, but for now I’m content to watch my Play of the Game once every thirty matches in which I stand with my nose in a corner and a healing beam on my team’s Winston as he kills three players in a row with his monkey rampage ultimate.

ScreenShot_16-12-13_00-19-31-000.jpg
In which my mech self-destructs behind strategically stacked crates and two enemy players die off-screen. Well done.

As in Smite, I don’t really like most of the heroes. Pharah’s rocket launcher reminds me of the Quake series which I used to play very heavily two decades ago, so I don’t mind her. Sombra, Mei, and Widowmaker are cool even though I suck at them. D.Va is the stereotypical k-pop streaming hearthob who is most effective as a tanky DPS harasser and is therefore a bit difficult for me to get used to, somewhat like some of the support gods in Smite who didn’t really seem to “do anything” until their play style clicked with me several matches in. Unsurprisingly, Mercy is my favorite healer aesthetically. Lúcio is an enormously useful healer and enjoys the advantage of being “meta.” I like rifle-toting grandma Ana, too. Unfortunately, I’m no good at sniping if the target has any amount of mobility.

And actual live opponents do. They are surprisingly aware of where I am at all times and annoyingly deadly. Sometimes I’m murdered without mercy in the space of five minutes. Unlike Smite which has Conquest matches that range from 25-45 minutes in length, a round of Overwatch is over fairly quickly and I’m free to leave in between matches without penalty. I’ve begun acquiring a collection of sprays, skins, and icons, most of which is pretty fluff to look at in the Hero Gallery when I’m done for the evening.

When it comes down to it, it’s a nice game to play when there’s nothing else I’m hot to trot for. I’ll probably never play it competitively, however; I have little tolerance for toxicity. That’s one thing that all of the multiplayer games I play have in common: they’re most fun when played with nice people. It’s no wonder a lot of us are playing single-player games these days.

Leave a Reply

