Blaugust 2015, Day 27 – Player Alignment

I’ve decided to jump on the Dungeons and Dragons alignment bandwagon. The chain spirals back to Starshadow’s original post here. Several bloggers have already answered; I now join their ranks.

I’ve decided to do the quiz from the perspective of the Real Life Player as well as from the perspective of my Mesmer in Guild Wars 2. Just for fun. I should note that these questions suffer from the same issues that I am faced with every time I take one of these types of “What Are You?” quizzes: the answer options often don’t resonate with me at all, resulting in a situation wherein I’m forced to choose the least unattractive statement. The results are therefore flawed but offer useful orienting generalizations.


Real Life Player

Chaotic Neutral

A chaotic neutral character follows his whims. He is an individualist first and last. He values his own liberty but doesn’t strive to protect others’ freedom. He avoids authority, resents restrictions, and challenges traditions. The chaotic neutral character does not intentionally disrupt organizations as part of a campaign of anarchy. To do so, he would have to be motivated either by good (and a desire to liberate others) or evil (and a desire to make those different from himself suffer). The common phrase for chaotic neutral is “true chaotic.” Remember that the chaotic neutral character may be unpredictable, but his behavior is not totally random. He is not as likely to jump off a bridge as to cross it. Chaotic neutral is the best alignment you can be because it represents true freedom both from society’s restrictions and from a do-gooder’s zeal.

–excerpted from the Player’s Handbook, Chapter 6

I’m distant from most of my family. They taught me how not to live. I don’t know how to put it any other way. I typically prioritize myself first. I follow laws in general. I despise corruption and mistrust authorities by default.


Fantasy Life Player (Miss Mesmer)

Neutral Good

A neutral good character does the best that a good person can do. He is devoted to helping others. He works with kings and magistrates but does not feel beholden to them. The common phrase for neutral good is “true good.” Neutral good is the best alignment you can be because it means doing what is good without bias toward or against order.

–excerpted from the Player’s Handbook, Chapter 6

My Mesmer is close to her family and values it above any other affiliation. She is distrustful of nobles and openly hostile to those who engage in egregious conduct. Her sense of right and wrong is dictated entirely by her internal sense of morality. She places her trust in authorities by default. She is prepared to replace them, perhaps personally, if they are ineffective or corrupt.


In terms of character, then, she’s an idealized version of myself. Fantasy is fun, isn’t it? It allows us to choose the way we were born, our circumstances, and our upbringing.

Blaugust 2015 Initiative Page

Leave a Reply

